Complete Noob - Where to start?

CanucksBrad

Hello all you talented people.

I should start by saying I have no design training, no experience, and really not a single creative bone in my body. But I have always loved jerseys, uniforms, and the dynamics they bring.

So I'd like to take a stab at what you all do so well, take the crazy thoughts that are swirling up inside my head and try to make them come to life. And I've got some doozies. But I don't even know where to start?

What is the best program for a complete noob? Looking for a free program that works on a mac.

Where do you get the templates?

How do you make a concept?

I am interested and eager to learn all of this, but the first step is finding what program to use, and then just playing around with it. I haven't played with a drawing/animation program since Macromedia Flash in High school, coming up on 10 years ago now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Brad.

Okay, so here is how you create a jersey. The first thing you do is decide what sport you're doing and find a template that works for the program you're using. Say you're doing a baseball uniform on inkscape, so you find a SVG Baseball template, one of which can be found here: http://boards.sportslogos.net/topic/80541-bmacs-baseball-template-update/ (Template by BMac) So anyways, you can put in logos and wordmarks onto the template and you use them there, you can add numbers to the front and back of the uniforms and so on.

You can make stripes on the uniforms too, by I won't go into detail of that because it's quite complicated. You can use the tool with the pentagon and star to make the stripe, and then crop it to the uniform, (many tutorials on that) Don't take uniforms off the website, since it takes away a lot of the originality and creativity. Here's what not to do:

EAgjeka.png