University of Washington Logo Question

benpc21

Does anyone know the story behind the University of Washington logo featured on both the jacket and hat of Bob Ernst? I graduated from UW and would see the logo from time to time, but it never really seemed official and I never really cared for it. I saw this picture the other day and while it doesn't beat the classic W, I'd love to know more about it if anyone knows what the story is? I wouldn't mind seeing on some vintage merch if there is a good history to it.

uwoldlogo_zpsxmqyc1nx.jpg

SEAsig.png

Can't find an example in a rudimentary search, but isn't that logo on some of the academic buildings? I thought it was on Suzzallo, but I couldn't find anything.

1 hour ago, ShutUpLutz! said:

and the drunken doodoobags jumping off the tops of SUV's/vans/RV's onto tables because, oh yeah, they are drunken drug abusing doodoobags

It's a shame no else at least uses the mark (if not the colors). I understand wanting to maintain consistency, but it is a great looking logo (at least I think it is since I'm a sucker for old school interlocking monograms).

Most Liked Content of the Day -- February 15, 2017, August 21, 2017, August 22, 2017     /////      Proud Winner of the CCSLC Post of the Day Award -- April 8, 2008

Originator of the Upside Down Sarcasm Smilie -- November 1, 2005  🙃

I like the logo but I have a question, too. Why would someone who works in the UW athletic department have an Oregon Ducks football signature?

gordie likely went to Oregon but works in Seattle. Or something similar. :)

Smart is believing half of what you hear. Genius is knowing which half.

I like the logo but I have a question, too. Why would someone who works in the UW athletic department have an Oregon Ducks football signature?

gordie likely went to Oregon but works in Seattle. Or something similar. :)

Bingo.