American Premier League (12/12 - Week 20 Standings Update)

Roadrunner8ball

screenshot_23_zpsty4hzc7i.jpg

Over the past month or so I have been working on my first ever fictional sports league. I came up with the league last year and I did not have the skills to make logos for the league, so I stuffed it away for almost a year. That league is the American Premier League. This is my first attempt at making logos for sports teams. So any C+C you have please feel free to post. Also, all cities are set in stone. I will probably ask for ideas for a team or two if I am stuck but the cities are here to stay. My inspiration for this series has come from Raysox' A-League and his fantastic APL. (I came up with the APL name before his series came out so it is just by coincidence that they have the same name)

Enjoy!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The American Premier League was founded in 1960 by teams from Portland (Maine), Fresno, Tucson, Fargo, Albany, Boston, St. Louis, and El Paso. The goal of the league was to make the game of soccer more popular in America. Soccer was just beginning to gain popularity in America by the start of the 60’s. Attendance was low for the first few seasons and many doubted if the league would survive the decade. But in 1965 a new president emerged. Peter C. Wolters came aboard with one mission. To make the APL a top US sports league. He brought on a new city and one more in 1970, and by 1975 the APL was competing with the top sports leagues in america. The teams moved to bigger stadiums and in 1976 the APL was averaging 40,000 fans a game.