High School Wildcat Logo

SkyCal

This is my first post ever to the forum as well as my first time designing a sports logo.  I have some experience designing word marks and simple logos for friends and family, but I have never tried my hand at a completely original sports logo.  I was inspired by one of the threads here that redesigns high school logos and I finally found the time to take a stab at redesigning the high school where I live in Kingsland, Georgia.  The Camden County Wildcats currently use the ever popular Clemson paw with their school colors navy and columbia blue.  I welcome any and all critiques because I would like to refine it and be able to take it to the school someday.  They have a power-house football program and are one of the flagship schools in the state of Georgia so I feel that they need their own identity.  I have to give credit to Conrad for the font, Pullman, which can be found here https://fontsbyconrad.wordpress.com/2014/11/11/adidas-nike-mixpack/ .  The word mark I just threw in there last minute so I am mainly just focused on the wildcat logo for critique.  I will eventually create a custom font for them too.  Thanks!

WILDCATGRAPHIC.png

As I am taking a look at this, there are a couple of things I'd like to hopefully point you to to help make this better.

1. Even though you said the eyes were hard to distinguish, you really did distinguish it, but in the wrong way. The eyes actually don't really look like eyes. Try looking for some logos of animals with simple eyes (like the Denver Broncos) and try something like that.

2. The things under the bottom eyebrows are kind of unneeded. Remove those altogether, let me know if you need further specification.

3. I would try only using one eyebrow on top, just because two eyebrows is just too busy up there.

4. The creases above the eyebrows should be removed altogether as well.

Hopefully this helps! Oh and also, these are suggestions, not demands.:)

IMG_7365.PNG

IMG_7364.PNG