An NBA team for Pittsburgh. Hockey Week's first basketball concept

hockey week

Now that Cleveland has actually won something in the NBA, I'm insisting it's only because there isn't a Pittsburgh team to beat them every year.

I also see far too many Cavs hats and shirts here in Pittsburgh. I don't care if they're the closest team, it's Cleveland, and we Pittsburghers are supposed to hate Cleveland. It's in our blood!

So, it's time for Pittsburgh to finally have an NBA team. It's not usually my thing, I'm not a big basketball fan, but I studied what goes on with basketball jerseys, paid attention to a lot of the standard practices and what makes them good or bad uniforms, and went from there.

The name:

Pittsburgh Iron

This is a league where oddball names thrive. Heat, Magic, Jazz, Nets. Iron is not completely off the mark, and if anything, fits in. Pittsburgh is the Steel City, but Iron is the basis of steel, and falls within naming situations like Iron Man races and is synonymous with toughness. Building into bigger names like Iron Men gets all sorts of awkward. Leave it with Iron and be happy with it. Pittsburghers already refer to Iron City Beer as an "Ahrn", and this team would affectionately see that as well.

The logos: 

Wordmark:

zj4RWDO.png

F3KNajz.png

The light gray is meant to be a shiny, metallic silver color. Considering what was done with the NFL's Super Bowl 50 patches, I have full faith that this can be done. 

Secondary logo: 

A P was a necessary addition. Inside is an iron smelting bucket pouring molten iron into a trough that looks like a basketball court.

mla6QZ8.png

Primary Uniforms:

The sidepanels are a smokestack, a symbol of Pittsburgh's glory days, and the gray shoulder stripe is stylized smoke. It's meant to be subtle, yet stylish. Again, the lightest gray is meant to be a reflective silver. This includes the outline on the numbers. 

JbhlGOM.png

byZjRT4.png

Alternate Uniforms: