Career as a designer

laurencemike

I I am a student of arts and I want to start my career as a designer. Can you suggest me some good tools which I need to master before I enter my career. I haven’t decided which field I would be working for, but I don’t want to restrict myself to one domain only. I know that designers use different software for different industries. For example, if I have to make a custom logo design, I need to learn logo maker, adobe illustrator, logo smartz etc. But what if I have to make a banner? I can’t use the same software’s right. So can you guys list me some essential software which can help me irrespective of the industry I choose.

This topic comes up every so often, so I'm going to quote a gentlemen who's initial advice sums up my feelings: 

On 7/27/2015 at 11:43 AM, officeglenn said:

Start with drawing things by hand. Find your style. Look at other logos to figure out what you like and don't like, then try to emulate those techniques. You can copy or trace someone else's work, but only to figure out they did what they did and to apply that same technique to your own work. Don't be afraid to try something new; even if it doesn't work out right, you'll learn something. Learn some of the basic rules of design, if only so that you can bend and break them later on.

When you're ready, then you can start scanning those drawings into your computer and refining them. Whatever tools you decide to use, learn to use them well. It's a poor workman who blames his tools. And never stop learning.

If you're just starting out, this is not something you will be good at overnight. But keep working at it and don't get discouraged.