Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
smzimbabwe

Mandatory Military Service

34 posts in this topic

This was a topic my middle daughter had in school, she's just looking for opinions to put in her paper. My oldest is currently studying engineering in college, the daughter working on the paper graduates in a couple months and is looking at serving in the military as a nurse, my youngest son is still looking at his options, he won't be out of school for years. I come from a long line of military men, I didn't join because my grandfather would tell horror stories about his military service in order to motivate me, but they didn't work, and I wish I had joined, but I got a scholarship and turned down the military because of those stories.

Anyway, her paper is about whether or not the United States should require a mandatory service of about a year for all students out of high school. I said I would ask and get some other people's opinions on it for her paper. Thanks in advance.

I say No.

That's probably only because I'm 17 right now, and the thought of being forced into boot camp as early as October really scares me.

I was talking to a family friend this summer and we got to talking about how and why he went into the military. I asked him why he left and his response was "I thought to myself, there's got to be something better than being shot at." I agree with him.

I'm about to graduate high school myself. This isn't a good idea imo.

I'll try not to get too political here, but it's inevitable that my personal opinions bleed in here.