Hello. I am an animator and video editor and I have been working on and off on a logo redesign project for the better part of a year now (with long stretches of inactivity) as a way to get better at illustrator and I thought I would make an account here for some critique. I started really getting in to logo design when I came across a black and white and horribly pixelated design for a Fleur De Lis that I thought could be made into a St. Louis Blues logo, and after contacting the owner of the shop and asking about it and if I could mess with it, I did. I didn't really think it worked well as a main logo, but I did think it worked as a shoulder patch. I did it in a couple other colors as well and took the wordmark from the actual St. Louis Blues sheet music after an idea from the kind folks on the Blues subreddit. Over a year later I thought I decided I needed to get better at illustrator so I started designing alternate/shoulder logos for the rest of the league. I'm "done" with about 1/4 of the league at this point. Please let me know what you think and I would love to hear suggestions on what I need to improve on, but keep in mind I dont really know what I am doing. Also, if there is a better way to format this let me know.

St. Louis

Original:

Orcwb1f.png

Wordmark:

H36J9LA.png

Colors:

7zzVTnT.png

Revision:

ENbaA5D.png

I did Minnesota next, where I thought a roundel logo would look cool. I did two variants of the same logo and one that was a riff on their main logo.

1:

1vD8emA.png

2:

4KxLC0X.png

3:

qOCEP3I.png

Colorado

This one I actually think could stand up as a main logo. I got rid of their ugly "Millennium swoops'

o6GWm8S.jpg

Winnipeg

Classic colors:

KfhPkZ3.jpg

Modern Colors:

REZMXXt.png

Revision:
xrPMoup.png

is5AFPF.png

Toronto:

based on the city of Toronto's flag

3a6oBk0.jpg

Ottowa:

I wanted to play off their older logo that everyone loves so much without just making it an exact copy

9j7fSaM.png

Revision:

LaWhSX0.png