Uniform Elements

dmsanders2344

I'm a HS basketball coach in TX and we're getting new uniforms next season, and I wanted to get your opinion on a couple of design elements. For information details:

School Name: New Summerfield
School Mascot: Hornets
School Colors: Royal Blue, Gold Yellow, White (think GS Warriors color scheme basically)

Help with:
1. Home Jersey White - Lettering color (outlined or not), # color (outlined or not, contrasting to lettering or not? Same color as jersey, and outlined, etc.?)

2. Away Jersey Blue - Lettering color (outlined or not), # color (outlined or not, contrasting to lettering or not? Same color as jersey, and outlined, etc.?)

3. Alternate Jersey Gold Yellow or Light Grey - Lettering color (outlined or not), # color (outlined or not, contrasting to lettering or not? Same color as jersey, and outlined, etc.?)

As for the lettering New Summerfield, how do you think that would best look on a jersey front for the Blue Away's? It's a very unbalanced name!

Any input from you guys would be awesome. Certainly not asking for a jersey design...just what your take on the contrast of colors, what looks best in your opinion.

I think a lot would have to do with the design of the jersey itself.  For example, if the white jersey has a lot of blue and yellow stripes or areas of color, going with 2-color letters and numbers could make the whole uniform look cluttered or busy while single color letters and numbers could balance it out visually.  Conversely, if the jersey itself is pretty plain, single color letters and numbers could make it look cheap, and two-color numbers could also be a way to bring in more color.