Mexican Baseball Winter League to add 2 new teams for 2019

Recommended Posts

For those that can read in Spanish;


I am sorry but I could not find an English link to this.


The Mexican Pacific Baseball League has been playing with 8 teams for awhile; Yaquis de Obregon, Naranjeros de Hermosillo, Mayos de Navajoa, Caneros de los Mochis, Venados de Mazatlan, Tomateros de Culiacan, Charros de Jalisco and Aguilas de Mexicali.  


For the 2019-2020 season the league will expand to Monterrey, Nuevo Leon and Guasave, Sinaloa.  Guasave had a team in the LMP up until 2014 when they were sold to a group from Guadalajara which changed the name of the team from los Algodoneros de Guasave to los Charros de Jalisco.  The team from Guasave will pick up the Algodoneros identity as Monterrey will pick up the Sultanes identity.  The first encarnation of the Algodoneros played in the LMP from 1968-2014 which won one title.  Los Sultanes de Monterrey have been playing in the summer circuit of Mexican Baseball and will now switch to the winter circuit LMP in 2019.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now