Legalities involved.....

zoneranger

I'm a graphic artist working for a local newspaper. I've downloaded logos from this site and the SLE for use in local display ads. Can anyone tell me if there are any restrictions or legalities involved inthe use of these logos?

P.S. Can someone design me a sports logo FOR FREE? (Sorry, just kidding!) :D

cfg.jpg41QN7ATP9VL._AA280_.jpg

I'm not a laywer, nor do I play one on TV.

I would assume that you're using logos of the major sports teams.  If that's the case, you'd need the approval of the team and/or league in order to legally use the logo.  For instance, on the radio now you'll likely hear many contests giving away (for example) a new big screen TV in time to watch the Super Bowl on it.  Well, they're likely not saying "Super Bowl", because the promotion is not sponsored by (nor has it paid) the NFL.

If you're using the graphics created by members of this board, I would assume that the creator would love to have his work used, as long as proper credit were given.  Since I don't know if any of the designers here are professional, I don't know if some might require payment.

Again, just my own darned opinion.

It's where I sit.

I have nothing to add to this topic, I just think it's funny because I came to the board tonight intending to start a thread regarding the legalities of logo use only to find that it's already been started.