Collegiate Athletic Nicknames

tBBP

First of all, hello to all on CCSLC. I've been a fan of this site for a LONG TIME and finally became a member a few weeks ago, and now I've got a few posts to my credit.

After searching and bringing this question up once, I decided to jump off a new thread. Has anyone besides me ever thought about how some colleges and universites came up with their nicknames/mascots/colors? Some I can understand (Miami HURIICANES), Florida GATORS, Florida State SEMINOLES, Oklahoma SOONERS, Indiana HOOSIERS), but then some completely throw me off (BOILERMAKERS is one of them, along with DEMON DEACONS, although I'm sure there are good stories behind those).

So, for all who may know the history behind certain schools' nickname/mascots/colors, and for those who WANT to know (like me), this is the place to interface and exchange.

So, with that said...LET THE QUESTIONS AND LESSONS COMMENCE.

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Daggone that book has got to be HUGE!!! I many have to go see if B&N has that--if I EVER get an off-day from working at the same place I go to class at. (working at school CAN be a full-time job, sometimes. :wacko: )

But yeah, two quick ones (aside from Purdue, of course): Maryland, with the terrapin--is that a turtle specific to MD? And then, the North Carolina Tar Heels. I vaguely remember someone telling me a story about that a while ago but can't remember--and I have NO CLUE how the ram came up, or the columbia color.

Whatcha got for me, footballfiji (or anyone else)? I'm a sponge now.

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁