NEW! Football Template

andrewharrington

This is the template I've been working on for the past several months. It is a more organic-looking template with a little bit more personality compared to the traditional, flat, blueprint-like layouts. If I had to compare it to templates we've seen before, I'd liken it to Swiss' baseball template and the soccer templates from the Switch Image Project, but I think the breadth of detail seen here might even surpass those. This (the Nike Pro Combat) is the only version I'm planning on putting up for download. It's the first one I've finished, and I have too much time and effort invested in this project to give them all away, unfortunately. Maybe someday, but for now, this is it.

I uploaded the file here: Download the template. There's also a revolution helmet and a pair of black shoes in the .ai file as well. I saved it for Illustrator 10.

procombat.png

It's easy to use, but there might be some features that people aren't familiar with. For one, I have the stripes you see there set up as strokes with brushes applied to them. If you want to add sleeve/pant/sock stripes, you can just make your stripe pattern into a brush and then apply it to the strokes that are there. You've gotta draw your own helmet stripes, though. The ones that are there can be used as a guide.

There's a free distort that's applied to the jersey and the pants to thin them down a little bit. You can expand them to make it easier on yourself. I probably should have done that to begin with.

Certain objects have stripes masked in them or might have a mesh pattern sitting on top of them or something. Just be careful where you click and lock stuff that's in your way if you need to. The line black color is what I use for all the lines of the template, and the true black color is what I use for filling in objects, like the helmet, the numbers, if the jersey or pants are black, etc. Makes it so that you can still see all the lines, even if the jersey is black.