Channahon Township Logo Entry

CJworks

Hey guys,

I've found myself pretty busy and buried in my work lately, as I've got alot of projects going on. Still working on both the Football Legaue and NHL Redesign, so stay tuned for some updates (thanks for the support in those by the way).

So, just this past summer, I changed schools despite moving literally across the street from my old residence, and this being my first year at the new school, I've found myself getting alot of work. I'm pretty well known as a designer, I was already awarded the job of redesigning the school's Cross Country/Track logo, which itself has taken a great amount of my time.

Anywho, my school had an announcement last Monday that stated that they would be holding a contest for all students to design a logo for the township of Channahon, a village not too far from the school. The award was $200, so I thought why not take a stab at it?

If you guys aren't familiar, Channahon is a small village out in the middle of nowhere, sorrounded by confields, in the Joliet/Minooka/Shorewood area of Illinois. There's lots of farmland, so I incorperated a tractor in my entry. My bus route passes through here in the mornings, and the image I always get in my head is the sun peeking up from behind the cornfields.

My design consisted of a mix between the two ideas. I'm still stuck on the wordmark, I would love some suggestions on that one. The entries aren't due till next Tuesday, the 21st, so I thought I might as well ask for some opinions of the professionals.

By the way, I wasn't sure where to post this, move this where you wish.

channahontownship.png

What do you guys think?

the lettermark treatment is really nice...strongest of the bunch

if you feel that you need an icon to go with it, i would start over (maybe with some of the same elements, but losing the overall shape)...too derivative of the obama logos, if you ask me

jldesigns404eo.png

Much better.