PENN STATE rebranding concept/vision (UPDATE: 23.Oct.2014, Post #45)

BroadSt_Bully

UPDATE, 23.Oct.2014: See Post #45 for new primary mark and wordmark.

This is my first attempt at any sort of concept or branding guide.

I've created a Google Doc illustrating my vision for a rebranding of Penn State athletics. Picture this as a booklet with the full page pictures on the left side of an open fold.

The goal was to create a simple, bold, timeless mark that exemplifies four core ideals of Penn State athletics: tradition, integrity, pride and strength.

I actually revived this logo several years ago and have a tailgating flag that I get a lot of positive comments for (see Page 8), and with Penn State and its current "chipmunk" logo cast in a negative light recently, I thought the time was finally right to proceed with this.

Here is the link: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B3xtcNoPH-nzMmJiZmQ4NDYtY2E4Ny00ZGU4LWI5MWMtNmIyM2RlYzFlZDRi

The wordmark was adapted from a version found on some Penn State merchandise and the uniforms of a few varsity teams.

I'd love some feedback on this and I'll be doing some tweaking over the next few days. Most notably, I'm working on obtaining a hi-res image of the vintage photo on Page 6. Please note that Google docs removes some subtle detailing, such as a speckled background behind the marks on Page 9.

Thanks!

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

as a PSU student and fan, I love this too much. excellent work. Appreciate a PSU concept that doesnt include "bah change everything and put teh logo on teh helmetzzzzz!!!!1"

Changing the football uniform is certainly NOT an option. :boogie:

I've never understood why everyone considers doing that.

Excellent presentation, by the way.