gordie_delini

So after my great reveal in the 2013 NFL changes thread, it's been come to be known that for the last 8 months I was a designer in Nike's NFL/NCAA Apparel Group. This means I was part of the team that designs on-field uniforms for the NFL and NCAA, as well as replica versions, sideline & training apparel, fan apparel, and equipment. Before I say anything else, I CANNOT AND WILL NOT DISCUSS ANY SPECIFICS FOR ANY PARTICULAR TEAM OR SCHOOL. That means no details on rumored designs, confirmed design changes, or anything in the works, so don't ask. That being said, I WILL take you through the general process for how a uniform comes to be.

Now, there are several ways that this process even begins. Sometimes it's a schedule redesigns. Sometimes it's at the behest of the school/team. Other times, they'll get a new logo, and a uniform will come with it. Sometimes we will get specific requests to incorporate things into a design, sometimes it's a particular theme, other times it's a "have-at-it" approach. But here's where it all starts: research.

That's right, it's not just a "wheeeeee we're Nike, let's make something CRAAAAAAZYYYY!!!!!!" There's a ton of research that's done before any design happens. This means looking at the current uniform the team has, the history of the team's uniforms, the city/location, the coach, the atmosphere, the fanbase. All of that is considered and thoroughly researched. Generally the design team will make a trip out to that school or team to interview the coaching staff, players, and students/fans.