Sign in to follow this  
awinagainov0708

Canisius College rebrand

I was hoping to get some opinions on my school's (Canisius College in Buffalo) new marketing campaign. I'm a member of the student senate, and we've been getting mostly negative reviews on it. The agency is 160over90 (http://www.160over90.com/). Some students opinions can be found in this student newspaper article

This is a mailer that was sent to prospective students

28886_10151092865302413_151628202_n.jpg

These are photos from a local shopping mall

100_4544.jpg

100_45471.jpg

100_45371.jpg

100_45582.jpg

100_45551.jpg

And this is a shot inside one of the buildings on campus

481665_4899112399366_548679740_n.jpg

In this day and age, though, it's all about catching one's attention when they receive college mail -- I simply shred all of mine but I'm much more likely to open up this Canisius mailing.

Actually, I love the branding. It focuses on what schooling -- or more precisely learning -- should be. I say well done.

"Go forth and set the world on fire." is a quote from St. Ignatius Loyola. Most people who see that, especially high school students, will think it's a reference to a song by Fun. That's not a good thing.

"Turn off the computer." posted above a computer lab. What? Strike two.

I can guess, pretty confidently, that the inside of that mailer says "Go Exploring!" Better than "Go to Canisius!" at least.

It's a weird advertising campaign for a small, private, Roman Catholic college. It's a weird campaign for any college, really.

I dunno, I kinda like it. That mall seems like it's gotta be one huge ad buy, though.

p.s.: I'd perhaps smudge out that poor guy's address?

"Go forth and set the world on fire." is a quote from St. Ignatius Loyola. Most people who see that, especially high school students, will think it's a reference to a song by Fun. That's not a good thing.