Millennium League (Tucson Vaqueros 2/24)

Whittier S

Hello all! I've decided that, even though I'm just a hobbyist, I want to improve my graphic-design skills with a concept series. I've struggled in the past to come up with the right kind of series to help me do this--I'd make it too big or too complex. But I've finally settled on an idea I'm comfortable with.

millienium-league-1_zpsdugywmd9.png

I call this the Millennium League for a few reasons. First is obvious, I envision it as a league starting in this millennium. I imagine this as a Triple-A level minor league, so it's producing players for the new millennium. Plus, the new millennium has seen a number of mid-sized cities rise to regional prominence.

Design-wise, this series is supposed to have an old-meets-new feel. My general aesthetic is more retro/vintage--1960's or so, I figure. But I want to add to that a relatively new idea: lots of mix-and-match uniform options. The jersey/pants/socks combos I post are what I would envision would be the most common combos. The hats could be switched around any number of ways. Most of the uniforms will have the secondary logo as a right patch.

No, I'm not changing the cities. No, I'm not changing the team names. It took me nearly a year to come up with them.

On which point, this series is going to take me a long time. Like I said, I'm a hobbyist, and I'm in grad school. I'm working on this with what little spare time I have, ten minutes here, fifteen minutes there. This series is going to take me a long time to complete. I'm okay with this.

I'm posting these here specifically because I am looking for feedback to help me become a better designer. Please give me C&C so I can make these concepts better.

rATMcmK.png

AlbuquerqueRams1_zpsepugrhmq.png