Logolympiad feedback: Predators Fauxback

suplauren

Hi Everyone,

A few other people have been asking for feedback on their Logolympiad entries. I only wanted feedback on this one:

XmuZWwU.png

I worked a long time on this, and I'm still proud of it, but it didn't do too well when it came to voting. I was curious about what other people thought of it. As a reminder, it was supposed to be a fauxback of what a newer NHL expansion team would have looked like if they had joined the league in 1967.

I have very little uniform experience, but I want to know more! Please give me as much specific feedback as possible.

Edit:

Oh, this was also my first draft. I decided to rework it because I wanted something a bit more exciting. Plus, the St. Louis Blues joined the NHL in 67, and they had a predominantly blue jersey with yellow accents.

oFspsXa.png

The yellow is definitely better than the navy. The logo doesn't work well with an outline, and the navy logo disappears on the navy sweater. The arm stripes don't look like they are from the 1960s. I would take what you have on the main part of the sweater and repeat it on the sleeves.

(In addition, the NHL didn't put names on the back of the jersey until later, so to make a 1967 concept, you should remove the name.)

award%20sig.png

For me, it just looked a bit too modern to really fit in the challenge. The tapering arm stripes are not something you see very often in 1967 expansion-era uniforms, nor are the tapering shoulder yokes. I do like the yellow version better than the blue, but even then the logo could have used a white outline on the yellow jersey to really set it off.

There's also something about where the sabre tooth meets the lower jaw in the logo. I know this isn't helpful, but it just seems ... off. I'm not sure what to do to fix it, though.

I like this set, but will there be a white? Or is the blue the away?