Cold Pitching A Redesign To A High School

mark_lavis

Over the past year and a half, I've been improving my logo design capabilities and now I'm at a point where I believe that I can start pitching redesigns to area high schools. However, I'm rather unfamiliar with how I should go about pitching a redesign to a high school out of the blue. As a journalist, I only have experience cold calling schools and companies as a member of a press and not as a salesman. 

Given how you can't throw a rock on this forum without hitting a high school redesign, I was wondering if anyone would help shed some lights on the dos/don'ts. I'm mostly looking at pitching to schools who are currently "borrowing" pro and college logos/schools currently using Native American imagery. Other than having a portfolio/lookbook handy to showcase my previous logo designs, should I preview my redesign for their school (if I've already made it) or hold-off to show it until we've reached some sort of agreement (if I should even have a pre-made redesign ready in the first place). 

1. be clear on why you're interested in doing this and how it would benefit them. it has to be more than "ill make your logo look better". no one cares about that. 

2. use examples from other schools. even taking something like Nike's work with Tennessee would be beneficial. 

3. show work you've done that relates to the project but no concepts for the specific school you're contacting. those are done in your own vision. you need to find what their vision is for the school and their own beliefs, and design things that express them. 

4. have a plan for payment and project process. how long does this take? what do i (school) get from it? can i see how it will look on a helmet and tshirt? how will we execute the roll out? what do i do if i want to replace signage? 

GRAPHIC ARTIST

BEHANCE  /  MEDIUM  /  DRIBBBLE