United Major League (MLB Soccer X-Overs)

vicfurth

gL7FZId.png

Won't make a big production out of this (don't have all 30 teams done yet), but I've moved on from my NFL Soccer project for now. That was a good "beta" test, if you will, as I am still learning the game of soccer. Subsequently, I'm also learning the aesthetics of soccer. I'm hoping this concept (and eventually full project) will show some progress. 

This time, I'm working on creating new badges for every team. Some will be subtle differences from the real-life baseball team. Others will be 100% re-designs. This time, I've actually saved all the files so I can edit as critiques come in. :) So without further man-splaining, here's the first crossover: Los Angeles 

RxK2jVt.png

DyMFQr5.png

Not too much to explain here. You'll see in this project sometimes I get carried away with doing hoops all the time, but "The Angels" have a bit of variation. The home (red) kit has a pretty basic look. I chose two reds to help break apart the kit. I didn't want a huge red block of color coming at the viewer the whole time, a la Liverpool. I feel like this combats that a little bit. 

The away (white) kit also has hoops, but with a different feel. The one grey hoop directly above the crest is a tip-of-the-cap to the Angels' halo caps. You can also see a red yoke which represents the angels that everybody has on their shoulders...Or that could be Nike-style marketing BS. You be the judge. ;)

My favorite, though, is the 3rd. I wanted a complete recolor and, thankfully, the mid-90s provided some good inspiration for Los Angeles. Once put together, the kit is light blue-navy-light blue-navy in a row. I also re-colored the crest to match the new color scheme. 

Send some C&C love on these kits. Next up soon will be San Francisco FC.

Spurs2017_HomeSignature.png.d781df3b4d5c0e482d74d6a47c072475.pngDortmund2017_HomeSignature.png.277fd43b7b71e5d54e4c655f30c9a1e6.png

FFvDg7F.png

WZTskvc.png