Learning Sports Design

bbush24

So this is a pretty broad question and I'm not sure if this is even the right forum to post this in, but I'm a very beginner in sports design and I'm just looking for ways to get better. I've tried looking for tutorials, but they all seem to be from people who are good, but not great. I'm getting ready to graduate with a degree in digital media, but that includes a lot of video and some photography, so I've only taken a couple graphic design classes, and they were pretty broad and basic. Video is my first love and what I planned on doing post-college, but I found that I really enjoy doing graphic design as well, but I'm kinda running out of time to learn it. Are there classes I should take or good tutorials online somewhere? I'm just kinda lost and looking for any type of help.

I just opened Illustrator/Photoshop for the first time this past summer and made a few things (this is not to show them off, I know they're not that good, it's just to give some context to where I'm at.)

fDetFHK.jpg

pwwfZt0.png

EG5itf2.jpgYRVUBQB.jpg

qwKRRUk.jpg

If anyone could give me any help/answers/advice at all it would be extremely appreciated. Thanks!

For just getting started these are great as a whole. Some individual criticism for each piece, although maybe take it with a grain of salt because I'm no professional:

1. Ohio against the World: I would lower the opacity of the map behind them, it seems to just kind of overtake the entire image. Other than that, I think it's fairly solid.

2. Duke Johnson: I love this one. I really like the symmetry of the different parts, and the only nitpick I have is to maybe play with a shadow underneath Duke of some sort. For me, it's just a simple suggestion but I think it would really enhance the image.