Report: Nissan Rebrands

tBBP

Add Nissan to the recent batch of brands gone barebones, as Nissan joins the flat design party.

Current, soon to be former logo:

690765.jpg

New, soon to be current logo:

690757.jpg

Application on vehicle grille...

5de36336fd9db24e101a2183?width=1100&form

It's ok for what it is. It looks more streamlined--and much better on that grille mockup than it does on a piece of paper.

Side note: this now means that someone somewhere is gonna have to pay to update all the signage and branding around Nissan Stadium-- which just got redone barely three years ago...

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

Looks better in practice than on paper.  It's a lateral move, I guess.

"You are nothing more than a small cancer on this message board. You are not entertaining, you are a complete joke."

twitter

It's a little misleading, since when applied like on the grill, it has a full border and shape (black).  It also looks like the letters are raised, and that makes the light kinda paint a line on it, which makes it similar to the current one.  

The logo with no outline (the black on white) doesn't look much  like the white on black version.

"The views expressed here are mine and do not reflect the official opinion of my employer or the organization through which the Internet was accessed."

11 hours ago, Quillz said:

Wonder if this rebranding was motivated in part by their former CEO being arrested on major fraud charges?

With seemingly half the planet's CEOs stepping down this year, I'm sure the rebrand is coincidental.

I like it! My dad was a Saab & Nissan mechanic when I was a kid... definitely fits the Nissan vibe, probably because its so similar to what it replaced that most people won't notice any change.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...