Why do you buy jerseys and hats that are not from your favorite team?

Basically the title question: Why do you buy jerseys and hats that are not from your favorite team?

For example, I am an Arizona Diamondbacks fan, but I used to wear a St. Louis Cardinals hat because I loved the logo and Albert Pujols was my favorite player.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

NHL Jerseys:

I've been collecting since 1991 and have over 200. When ever the Maple Leafs put out a new one I am sure to get it. Otherwise I want to make sure I have 1 per NHL team. I need to add Seattle when it comes out and some how I dont have Winnipeg yet. I have an old CCM Jets jersey and 3 different Atlanta Thrashers jerseys but I don't have a current Jets jersey. 

I collect old ones from when I was a kid or players with my last name, I view them as art also. I am in the processes of finishing our basement and I am getting a few of my favorites framed to be hung up.

Also this nearly 30 year old addiction is hard to crack.

Belts.jpg
PotD May 11th, 2011
looooooogodud: June 7th 2010 - July 5th 2012

I collect hats for one. So if I see one I like I want to add it to my collection.

For most sports I don't have a pure favourite. I basically have a ranking from "like very much" to "strongly dislike". The teams toward the like very much end I'm not opposed to buying gear for, the teams towards the strongly dislike end I won't. There is typically one team I like more than the rest, but not enough to exclude myself from buying a hat I like or whatever.

The exception is the NHL. I like the Canucks and every other team can rot. I dislike some teams more than others, but the Canucks are my only team. I'll buy Canucks merch and thats it. (Though I would be lying if I said I didn't have some memorabilia from teams that don't exist anymore simply for being a hockey/logo fan).