Houston Rockets Logo Concept

Agus

Hi guys, I started exploring this world of graphic designs and sports concepts during this quarantine. I've been visiting this forum for a couple years and recently I decided to join.

I wanted to share with you some concepts I've been doing for a Houston Rockets redesigning. As you can see, it's very based on their 1996-2003 looks, including the rocketship (albeit not that very cartoony). On the secondary, I tried some rocket launch smoke pattern at the end of the H and the R, but I'm not quite convinced of it, so made another one with the regular lettering. The font used is called Space Quest, wanted to get a "space" like vibe from it.

Any feedback and criticism is welcome! I'm recently starting on this so I want to know if I'm heading in the right direction.

spacer.png

spacer.png

I appreciate the cleanup of the old 2000s logo; it looks way better without a cartoony face. The font is also a solid choice.

I do think the rocket should be centered on the logo, with the "Rockets" text around the ball like "Houston." That way the focus is on the motion rather than the very static rectangle. 

As for the HR monogram, I like the idea but agree with @LA Fakers+ LA Snippers that it's kinda wonky. I'd copy the exhaust from the primary logo and use that just once, either as part of the combined horizontal bar of the H & R or part of the combined vertical bar. You might need to taper the letters to make it work.

It's certainly a good start to an upgrade! I'd be curious to see that wordmark on a jersey set.

• 2 weeks later...
On 8/27/2020 at 5:58 PM, LA Fakers+ LA Snippers said:

Nice work, but even though I see what your trying to convey with the "HR-rocket-ball" but it just looks a little wonky.

On 8/27/2020 at 11:42 PM, vtgco said:

I appreciate the cleanup of the old 2000s logo; it looks way better without a cartoony face. The font is also a solid choice.