International Challenge Hockey League (12/41) (March 22nd)

eegl75

here we go, attempt 2. i finally got back into designing concepts so i could create this league, which has been an idea of mine for a while now.

i apologize in advance for the low res images, im still new to this. huge thanks to Wildcomet for the logos.

the IHCL is a concept league with 40 concept teams that is based on the challenge era of the stanley cup. 

year 1: the original 8 teams compete in a 35 game season with 4 teams going to the playoffs to decide the 1st winner of the international cup

year 2 and on: teams from around the world are invited to challenge any of those 8 teams to a 5 game series, and if they win, theyre in. once every team has played a challenge series, the top 8 play their regular season and playoffs while the teams who didnt make it go back to their division (group of teams in their geographical area) and play 30  games there to compete for the division championship.

if a team goes 10 years without winning their division or making the top 8, they are relegated from the league and a new team is invited in to the top 40.

without further ado, the first team is a powerhouse from the American division, you may be familiar with them from the WHA and NHL, but they've found a new home in the ICHL.

the hartford whalers:

xT91nIO.png

• Like 3

coincidentally, the next team also spent time in the WHA and NHL.

take a guess, 

heres a hint: it starts with quebec and ends with nordiques

YT0sgtm.png

i decided to focus on red more than the nordiques did in real life to go with the modernized logo (by wildcomet). 

the nordiques won the international cup in 2011, but then declined. now, they have a good crop of young talent that led them to an atlantic division championship appearance in 2021-22

• Like 2

time for team #3!