Alternate NJ Devils logo concept

KenMan

It's definitely an interesting design. I think it has potential, but it could use some improvements. For starters, it took me a minute or two to finally see the NJ. I would also lose the gradient (prepare to be reamed by everyone else about that, too). The other major flaw that I see is that the logo is just way to big. It has giant black tentacles (for lack of a better word). I am just concerned that the red center part will be forgotten and all that people will see are the spikes.

Make the shield a solid red, and it's a good logo. Not sure if it'll ever see a uniform, but as far as merchandise, i think it's a winner.

Stay Tuned Sports Podcast
sB9ijEj.png

Thanks for the feedback. I'm certainly not committed to the gradient, I don't usually like them myself. I was using it more as a drawing exercise for myself since I'm not very good at using them at the moment.

I agree that the logo is too bulky. I've never taken it beyond this concept drawing, but my idea was to maybe do the horned shield with wings as the crest and have the trident act as an alternate, specifically to run large on the shoulders. Sort of how the Avs use the foot on the shoulder or the outline of Texas on the Stars' jerseys, only bigger.

Overall I think that an edge needs to be added to the look of the team. Not necessarily demonic, but a bit more agressive. The "wings" are sort of inspired by the popularity of that graphic style with your "hardcore" types. I'm thinking about the American Chopper paint schemes and all the Kyle Turleyesque arm tattoos.

I'd love to see something like the Senators alternate with the 3/4 view of a devil face, but I could never pull it off. I think the Red Wings logo would look awesome in that perspective as well, sort of busting out of the jersey front. I've tried that as well, but my drawing skills are pretty crappy and it never looks real enough.