My First Uniform

Squeaks4

Ok, yesterday I did my first concept with my ASU hockey mask. I improved on it earlier today but since I am home sick and I am the insomniac that I am I decided to have a go at a jersey.

First-Jersy.jpg

I know I have a LONG way to go, but this is only my second day with Illustrator and I am just learning. I would absolutely LOVE for one of the professionals here to give me a few tips (i.e. how to vectorize an image off the net without losing all of the area in-between the outline & how to "fold" shoulder logos and stripes instead of them poking out like in mine) but I realize you guys are all busy and if you personally helped every beginner you would never get anywhere yourself. But I would like some C&C.

PopHeading-1.gif

i'm faaar from a professional... infact, i work as a police dispatcher, which has absolutely nothing at all to do with computer graphics :)

but i'd love to give you some pointers, if you value my input.

not sure how to fold the shoulder logos on your concept, because i don't use your program... i just make sure to paste the blackoutline from my template on top of the logo, and anything on the inside of the uniform i leave, while anything on the outside, i paint over with white :) i use a simple program, though.

tips on the actual concept though, from a sports uniform perspective, rather than an illustrator perspective:

if you're going with a sand colored jersey, it will only look good if the socks match. you've got the socks in maroon, like the helmet and the pants, and it's making the socks stand out... almost giving it a "cooperall" look. top heavy. you should always try to get your socks to match both the coloring and the striping pattern of the sweater. right now, it doesn't match either quality.