Twins analyst Blyleven suspended

bucskick20

Twins television analyst Bert Blyleven has been suspended for two telecasts for accidentally using obscenity on the air before the start of the Twins-Yankees game Sunday afternoon in New York.

WFTC (Ch. 29), which showed the game, could face a fine from the Federal Communications Commission.

Blyleven had thought the pregame portion of the telecast was being taped when he used the same objectionable word in quick succession after making a mistake.

"I apologize to anybody I offended," he said. "I thought it was a rehearsal and didn't realize we were live. I usually don't [swear] in rehearsal, but I just happened to say that and I'm sorry.

"I'm embarrassed something like that happened. I've been doing this for 11 years and nothing like this had happened."

Blyleven explained that he and fill-in play-by-play man Anthony LaPanta had taped the opening segment the previous two days. "We had just taped the second segment of the show first [on Sunday] because of the national anthem and the inconsistency of when they play it in New York," Blyleven said. "I messed up at the beginning and don't recall exactly how I said it but I know I said the f-word."

After repeating the word, Blyleven was told by the production team in the truck that the telecast had been live. "I probably turned 12 shades of red," he said.

At the conclusion of the Twins' 10-1 loss to the Yankees, Blyleven called Twins President Dave St. Peter and left an apology. He also left an apology with FSN North executive producer Jeff Byle. Shortly thereafter Blyleven received a call from St. Peter. Byle and Mike Dimond, FSN North general manager, were also on the line. Blyleven is employed by the Twins.

"They're concerned about the FCC," Blyleven said. "I told them, 'I'm really sorry.' "