Do you know your college athletic history? (or anyone else's)

tBBP

That post in Sports Logos about the evolution of the Arkansas nickname and mascot was one interesting read. It makes me wonder if anyone eles out there has any similar stories about THEIR alma mater's history of colors/nicknames/mascots.

This actually is a continuation of an older thread (started by me, no less)...I was just wondering (and I'm sure there are other curious minds out there) if anyone else has any similar tales or stories to tell about any other schools.

If you got it, post away!

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

According to the ESPN College Football Encyclopedia (a truly great book), Texas A&M's colors were red and white in the early 1900s, but the uniform supplier accidentally sent maroon jerseys. A&M just kept maroon and white because it set them apart from the many other schools that used red.

I've always liked the story behind LSU's colors. The coaches and players wanted to decorate the jerseys to celebrate their first game. They went to the store, and it had Mardi Gras colored ribbon in stock (green, gold, purple). But they were low on green, so LSU just stuck with purple and gold.

You're right, it is pretty interesting to learn the stories behind the colleges. Of course, A&M has too much history and tradition for me to even go into right now.

AM.gif

My alma mater, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, was founded in 1896 as Milwaukee State Normal School (and later became Wisconsin State College in 1927), but didn't become UWM until 1956, when Wisconsin State merged with the UW-Extension campus in Milwaukee. Here's a history of our nicknames and colors:

Milwaukee State Normals (1896-1927) -- Green and White

Wisconsin State Green Seagulls (1927-1956) -- Green and White