Least intimidating team name ever...

whitedawg22

signingdaytakeover_wire.jpg

This is the front page from the rivals.com college football signing day article today (2/7). Looks like Chad Jones, whoever he is, plays for a high school team whose nickname is the "Kittens". Does anybody know what team this is? It has to be the least intimidating nickname I've ever heard, unless you're a ball of string.

Edit: I did some more research - evidently, a high school did think that "Kittens" was a great name for athletic teams. It's Baton Rouge Southern Lab School. I don't even know what to say about this.

jaguar4.gif

• Replies 109
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am a graduate of Stuyvesant High School in NYC. My Freshman year I played one season on JV. Our football team: The Stuyvesant Peglegs, named in honor of the wooden leg worn by former New Amsterdam governor Peter Stuyvesant.

Talk about your non-intimidating nicknames--how about a football team that sounds handicapped before they even take the field? (bow)

When I played there (86-87) we wore red uniforms with bright "Denver Bronco" blue helmets. The JV had blank helmets, while the Varsity got "Peglegs" in red outlined with white in sort of a zippy New York Jets type font. Here's the current helmet, which is much less ugly.

Helmets_left2-159x130.jpg

Anyway, that's my "non-intimidating nicknames" entry

NyghtOwl

I have to ask this sarcastic question, but are they the Lab Kittens like the Hokaido Nippon Ham Fighters are known to most as the Ham Fighters? :D

Nippon Ham is the company that sponsors the Fighters. I assume you were kidding, but I just wanted to make sure :grin: (Actually got to see the Fighters play the Marines while I was in Japan...great experience)