More Botched Throwbacks

RollWolfpack

Looking on Eastbay.com I saw Nike has produced a "Greats and Glory" throwback jersey for Shaun Alexander and the Crimson Tide, along with a few other standouts for other schools. However, they completely dropped the ball on this throwback. And I'm not a jersey expert, but some of they others they have on the site look a little off also. What do you guys think?

16910021_z.jpg

screenshot-2017-09-15-18-37-19.png

Looking on Eastbay.com I saw Nike has produced a "Greats and Glory" throwback jersey for Shaun Alexander and the Crimson Tide, along with a few other standouts for other schools. However, they completely dropped the ball on this throwback. And I'm not a jersey expert, but some of they others they have on the site look a little off also. What do you guys think?

16910021_z.jpg

The botch I see is that they put stripes on an Alabama football jersey.

Nike has done several jerseys with this theme. These are not accurate throwbacks that were worn by the players. They were worn by the team at some point in time. For instance, last year they made a Deron Williams Illinois jersey in the style of the 1989 team. I am guessing Bama had shoulder stripes at some time.

OldRomanSig2.jpg

Nike has done several jerseys with this theme. These are not accurate throwbacks that were worn by the players. They were worn by the team at some point in time. For instance, last year they made a Deron Williams Illinois jersey in the style of the 1989 team. I am guessing Bama had shoulder stripes at some time.

TheOldRoman is correct. I know they had a Jordan, Wade, Boozer, and Gordon all in styles that they never wore.

Could it have something to do with licensing issues? Maybe Nike isn't allowed to do an exact throwback replica or something. I'd hate to think that a company that is so image conscious could miss the mark by that much.

BB52Big.jpg