Say "hello" to new new Pirates skipper!

tBBP

...and if you haven't, now you have.

Let's see...someone from within the organization...someone probably no one outside the organization has heard of...someone who has ZERO big-league experience...someone who GOT FIRED FROM THE SAME TEAM TWO YEARS PRIOR...and yet the Pirates brass wonder WHY they continue to be a laughtingstock in MLB circles???

Say...what year are the Pirates on now in their 5-year rebuilding plan, now? (And whatever happened to this "supposed" gold mine of pitching talent they had?) Ho hum Pirates...

Well...I guess if there IS a positive to be found here, it's that this guy, at least according to the linked article, was successful at getting the most out of his teams while coaching in the minors...which I guess is perfect for Major League Baseball's best AAA team...

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

Russell was a serious contender for the Phillies job back before Bowa got it in 2000 (I think) and he was very highly thought of in their organization. I understand the frustration, but for a team that really needs to go with young inexperienced players, he may do alright there.

"The views expressed here are mine and do not reflect the official opinion of my employer or the organization through which the Internet was accessed."

I have to give credit to Colin Cowherd for bringing this up, but, in addition to the fact no-one's heard of this guy (outside of die-hard 'bucks's fans), they decided to announce his hiring on the day that the Steelers were hosting a MNF rivalry game, and the biggest MLB story of the day was Joe Torre's press conference in LA... How dumb is that?