How much do you charge?

DelayedPenalty

Hey guys

I'm still a young graphic designer, never had a commissioned piece before, so I have no idea what to charge. I designed a couple of logos for my friend's band which they will be using on hats, t-shirts, stickers, guitar picks, posters etc. They're just starting out and he's not in the greatest income situation right now...so how much should I charge? I designed 2 logos, both of which he said he'd like to use. I don't want to charge him too much because 1) he's my friend, and 2) he's dang near broke, and 3) I'm just a rookie so I don't want to charge too much. I told him basically to make me an offer. Can anyone help me out?

Much appreciated!

Ryan

If he's using your logo on merchandise, ask for a small percentage of the revenue from the sale of that merchandise, and don't charge for the initial design work. It will 1) save him money in the short-term and 2) give you more income over the long haul. Make it part of the copyright release agreement that any income brought in directly from the sale of merchandise featuring the logo you designed that you get a small percentage.

OD_Signature.jpg

If it's your friend, just give it to him, but make sure he knows that future work will be billed.

EDIT: Didn't see Brian's post when I posted......do what he said.

Haha, I kinda already gave him a freebie when he was trying a solo act, I redesigned his logo for him. I was thinking % of the sales, but honestly I could really use the money now, lol, so an initial payment would benefit me more right now. Thanks for the advice guys!

If it's your friend, just give it to him, but make sure he knows that future work will be billed.

EDIT: Didn't see Brian's post when I posted......do what he said.