Made-up football league - states, not cities

chestnutz

First off, I'm a very amateur designer. I just want to get better at making logos and uniforms so I can be as good as I can. Most things won't be too good in the beginning, but hopefully by the end (if I finish this) they'll be much better

Well, I'm just in a fantasy kind of mood right now. I decided to maybe start a series, where it will be a fantasy football league similar to the NFL. Here's the difference: instead of cities having teams in cities like L.A. AND Oakland, there will be one team per state (like 20 or 30 teams total, going by how populated the state is), and the team name will be "State-Nickname" (i.e. New Mexico Cowboys, Califonia Sun).

Here is a list of updated team names....(will be updated many times)

(Team in color denotes it's completed)

Northeast

New York Empire (Logos, Uniforms)

Pennsylvania Miners - Nicknamed the Coal and Oil State

Massachusetts Shillelaghs - Irish heritage

New Jersey Destroyers - kewps suggestion

Ohio Aviators - As someone said (forgot who), lots of flying in Ohio

South

Florida Hurricane - AstroBull's suggestion

Georgia Hammers/Rebels - Help to choose which one? (thanks to eRay and scar for the names)

North Carolina Coasters - east coast, yeah.

Virginia Infantry/Dominators - Infantry or something like it because many US military bases are located there, and Dominators is a play on "Old Dominion state"

Tennessee Blues - Memphis, Nashville, etc.

Midwest

Illinois Toppers - Ha, thought it would be a cool name, unique, after kewp suggested something Lincoln-esque

Michigan Lakers

Indiana Racers - kewps suggestions

Missouri Archers

Oklahoma Tornados

West

California Gold - Referring to gold rush of the mid-1800's

Texas Toros - Toro is Bull in spanish, so abundance of cattle and Latin population in Texas

Washington Volcanos

Arizona Montezumas

Colorado Bighorns - State animal