Adobe InDesign

officeglenn

Well, in about two weeks, the newspaper I work at will make the switch from Quark XPress to Adobe InDesign for all our layout and ad building.

I've worked with InDesign a little bit before, but that was maybe five years ago and I don't remember much of it. And I've been working my way through the video tutorials that came with CS3.

Anyone have any tips or tricks? What's been your experience with InDesign compared to Quark? Anything I need to watch out for as we make the switch?

I had been using Quark for 10 years before switching to InDesign, and let me tell you InDesign is much, much better.

I don't know if my company purchased a plug-in that allowed InDesign to open Quark files or if it's built into the program. We run CS2 at work, and I know that we have to down-save Quark files to version 4 to open them. For the most part, they covert fine, but sometimes text loses its formatting.

The only thing I found easier in Quark than InDesign was Style Sheet formatting. InDesign has a lot more options and menus to go through to get it to format correctly.

Back-to-Back Fatal Forty Champion 2015 & 2016

I'm a student using InDesign in classes and also at both of my jobs (one at a newspaper and one just for some projects), and I love it. Very powerful and it integrates so well with the other programs in the Creative Suit. I've used both CS2 and CS3.

I can't compare it to Quark, a program I never used, but one of my bosses loves it and thinks it much better than Quark, if for no other reason (and I believe he has others) than how easy it is to use with the other Adobe programs.

One of my professors quipped that Quark was the better program but InDesign is the industry standard anyways, but I get the impression from him that he's just bitter (not old) that he grew up learning and working with Quark and now has to switch over and doesn't want to admit the benefits that come from InDesign.