Use of Arial/Helvetica/Web Safe Font in Logos

Patchez

It was pointed out to me that a basic sans-serif font such as Arial/Helvetica and I suppose those similar would/should never be used in a sports team logo design.

That made sense to me, but I wondered what logos may have similar fonts incorporated in existing designs. I did a quick check and found these in my patch collection.

Keep in mind some designs may have had a font switch for embroidery production purposes and that I am far from a font expert, so I might have ID'd ones that do not below here.

SportPatchCollection-4.png

SportPatchCollection-5.png

SportPatchCollection-6.png

SportPatchCollection-7.png

SportPatchCollection-8.png

I had to stop here.

1sigHawks-1.png

2sigHawks.gif

i see you included the patch towards the bottom, but when i saw this thread title, first thing in my head was "the dallas stars logo is completely italic helvetica"

do i have nothing else to add :P

It all depends on how it's used. Anything can look lazy and cheap if it's just tacked on.

In cases like the Chicago Fire patch above, a simple sans serif like Helvetica can add information, while still letting the primary logo be all the focus.

I know the Newark Bears used Arial in its logo, and it didn't seem like it was used because it was a default font (choice of Arial beside the point :P )

Back-to-Back Fatal Forty Champion 2015 & 2016

It was pointed out to me that a basic sans-serif font such as Arial/Helvetica and I suppose those similar would/should never be used in a sports team logo design.

As you can see, that "rule" you heard is complete BS. Any design should use whatever typeface or typefaces that best communicate what the design is supposed to communicate. Rarely will a common trade font be right for a jersey script, though one has only to look at the Maple Leafs to see the limits of this guideline. But in other team logos, a common commercial typeface will often be the right choice for at least some text.