Windows Media Player Skins

wyopokes2

I have a little pet peeve of making everything on my desktop match. I usually try to keep the icons, login screen, wallpaper, gadgets, and start bar in a general thing. As a college student I am often doing some form of homework and studying and I like to listen to music while I do. I usually use my laptop to listen cause I'm too lazy to buy an iHome. I usually listen to Zune, but occasionally listen to Windows Media Player (WMP). I always come across cool skins for WMP online and a few days ago I got the desire to take a crack at making one myself. I was hesitant in the past about making one because it requires quite a bit of knowledge about writing code. After having been through a few semesters of classes and feeling more comfortable I decided to try it.

In the early stages I played around with putting the actual buttons on a logo. This was cool in a way, but I really wasn't feeling the look of it after I stared at it long enough. It was also hard to incorporate the name of the artist and song

Here

After looking around online a bit more I saw that making a sig-esque type player might work. I then converted a sig that I had made a few years back and tried to make it into something that looked more like a media player. I came up with this (mind that it lacks any features because it is just hover image. I never took a screenshot)

Take 2

I actually really liked the look of this, but again my matching problem came into effect. It clashed with my icons and gadgets. Mainly the with the gadget clocks that I make (example of Oregon lime green).

I decided to try incorporate the look of the gadget clocks into it so they would blend. Thus this was born:

Take 3