New York Americans Hockey team

GeorgesL

I wanted to create a logo for the New York Americans hockey team that features the Statue of Liberty, because it not only represents America, but New York City as well. I tried many variations, but the one I'm posting today, I feel, was the best one. My main concern was the points sticking out of its crown. I wondered would they be too big, or too pointy for the trim? And I had to get the face as perfect, but as modern as possible. Not too graphic, but simple enough to design. The 5 stars on the logo represent the five boroughs of New York City. The two red stripes are for the servicemen and women of NYC, one for the NYPD, the other for the Fire dept. of NY.

NYA.png

Thoughts? (Mind you, the wordmark is not official yet.)

The face needs to be redone. Unfortunately I'm not an expert on that so I can't help ya, but something looks off. The rest is pretty cool though

34y7eo5.jpg

You know what they say, "Traditionalist's can go die in a hole if they don't like it."

I'll agree that the eyes are a bit strange. Probably due to that the logo is representing a statue and not a real person. I don't know if you'd be willing to do this, but perhaps try to give her some sort of scowl. Right now she's just kind of looking into the distance with no emotion (yes, I know that's how that's how the statue is, and maybe you were going for realism). I might also suggest cutting down on the number of windows (I think that's what those are?) and thickening up the jawline. And I think losing that gray spot under her right eye would help.

14622089383_66ed2643e0_o.jpg14415375480_b33010b5ce_o.jpg14602016315_3e9fe74148_o.jpg

I like the wordmark, maybe 13 stars would do better than 5 stars as an ode to the 13 Colonies. The face is not good however, and it almost looks like Sly, in facial structure and expression. A decent start nonetheless.

11 stars is another idea. New York was the 11th state to join The Union.

RockiesSig.png