Alabama Logo Concept

bigmike

Hey guys, I took a little break from my NCAA Football Series (which was somewhat rebooted recently, I'll start working on it again sometime) and created this logo for the NCAA Concept Championship. I got put out in the first round by JJSCOTT whose work is absolutely fantastic. Anyways, I would have liked to rework my logo before I entered it into the tournament but I didn't really have time. I am extremely new to inkscape and it is completely out of my comfort zone (MS paint & GIMP are my "tools of the trade"). I've watched some of gbm's videos and while they are great, I can't really seem to figure out how to rework my logo using his tutorials. So I figured I would post my logo, show you guys how far I got using drawing skills, MS Paint and GIMP. And then see if everyone could give my pointers on how to improve it in inkscape, I really need a lot of pointers because I really have no understanding of the program yet. I would love to be able to create logos like this more often though, I love to draw and if I could translate that to computer I would even like to try and make a career out of it or at least keep it around as a hobby.