New York Nets concept

The_Admiral

Maybe I could do a series of concepts based on the ever-controversial "regional names" thread. In grand CCSLC tradition, I'd probably crap out after two or three. I'm not very good at this.

So what I tried to do with the Nets was some fusion of the Dr. J era and New York Subway imagery, which isn't very creative seeing as how it's just Helvetica Bold and dots with letters in them, but I thought it might be worth a try anyway.

NYNetsprimary3copy.jpg

Primary is a blatant ripoff of an old NJ Nets primary, but I replaced the New Jersey outline with a hypothetical Subway icon of a net.

NYNetssecondarycopy.jpg

An ABA basketball that also says Brooklyn because this is highly important. Kind of had the Chiefs' AFL logo in mind here. Duh.

netshome1.jpg

netsroad.jpg

The red numbers are your obligatory Dodgers callback. The whole thing is otherwise a Dr. J callback, obviously.

netscourt.jpg

I guess the NYN and Net dots are tertiary logos. Thought about doing a parquet floor like the Meadowlands, but the Meadowlands aren't worth remembering.

Obviously I like this enough to stick my neck out and post it here, but it's not without its glaring flaws. Helvetica makes it super-easy to counterfeit, for example, and it might be too much to have a primary, a secondary that says Brooklyn which is said nowhere else and looks nothing like the rest of the package, the NYN tertiary, two uniform scripts, and the Net dot. Still looks better than what they have now, and it's probably as reasonable of a Dr. J modernization as we could have, because those originals looked pretty flimsy and lame.

♫ oh yeah, board goes on, long after the thrill of postin' is gone ♫

Yeah, maybe. I was trying to replace the three stars from the original uniforms. Seemed naked without anything on the side panel, and stars wouldn't fit here.