Matte Helmets in the NFL

hyundaddy279

As many of you have already noticed, matte helmets are one of the "in" things in college football this year. When Nike takes over the NFL next year, do you expect any NFL teams to change to matte helmets as well?

Personally I can see teams like Detroit (essentially a grey matte helmet, rather than silver), Pittsburgh, Houston, etc. changing to matte.

I'd like to hear all of your opinion's on this topic. Let's hear what you guys think

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Lions, or for that matter any team with a metallic helmet (Saints, Raiders, 49ers, etc.) should never use a matte helmet.

oh ,my god ,i strong recommend you to have a visit on the website ,or if i'm the president ,i would have an barceque with the anthor of the articel .

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't helmets excluded from that whole exclusive contract thing?

*Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on stuff...I just do a lot of reading and research and keep in close connect with a bunch of people who are authoritative experts on stuff. 😁

|| dribbble || Behance ||

I think it could work with the following teams (no particular order, just going in my head): Bears, Falcons, Packers, Eagles, Giants, Seahawks, Redskins, Steelers, Chiefs, Texans, Broncos, Browns, Bengals, & Ravens. Basically, it'd be a mess if any team w/ a helmet that's white, silver, or gold went matte. The Rams' helmet w/ a matte finish would be the worst, IMO.

The packers retro brown helmet shoulddefinetly be matte

Agreed. Actually, if the Packers are going to keep their matte pants, the regular gold helmets should be switched to match.

But yes, Nike's exclusive contract does not extend to helmets. They'd have to get all the manufacturers to supply matte shells, which doesn't seem like such a chore since all the manufacturers seem able to create the dazzle shells, even Jacksonville's teal-on-black.