North American Throwball Association- Victoria Orcas

jmoe12

WARNING: This is my first try at anything of the concept sort so don't expect any miracles.

BEGINNINGS
In 1973, Jason Moeldour, a Phy. Ed teacher in Montana developed a new sport for his students, naming it "Throwball". The sport quickly spread across the United States and Canada, with professional leagues being founded in both countries starting in 1979. By 1986, the sport had taken over Central America, the Caribbean and South America. There were professional Throwball leagues in the 6 inhabited continents by the early 1990s.
BASICS
Throwball is played in a hockey-sized rink, but on grass, the object of the game is to put the ball in the opponents net. The game is basically a mash-up of hockey and soccer, hockey in the rink and goal size, the boards, on the fly line changes and the hard-hitting nature of the game. Soccer's influence is apparent in that you can use any part of your body except your feet.
TEAMS
Throwball is played by two teams of 6 with a center, two wings, two posts, and one goalie. Teams play three 20 minute periods and if the game is tied, two sudden-death overtime periods of 10 minutes are played. If still tied, the teams go to shootout. Penalty shots are taken from a set mark 15 feet from the goal. The shooter may not leave the mark.
THE BALL
The ball is about half the size of a basketball and is made of the same material as a playground ball
A points system similar to hockey is used and the points are given as follows
3 points: Regulation win
2 points: Overtime/Shootout Win
1 Point: Overtime/Shootout loss
0 points: Regulation loss
Any further questions you have, feel free to ask. I will also be open to new suggestions for the sport's name as it has come to my attention that there already is a sport called Throwball. Now on to NATA.