ESCC graveyard - Bordeaux, Bilbao, Sheffield - C&C welcome

jdp

Much to my surprise, I did OK in Raysox's European Soccer Concept Cup (go vote if you haven't already). I didn't make the knock-out stage [cue the sad trombone music], but I don't think I embarrassed myself either, especially going up some longtime board members/great designers.

I have some thoughts on what I could have done better, but I'll keep those to myself for now.

What did you think of my concepts -- other than some obvious typos that keep me up at night (I'm an editor by trade)? What worked? What didn't? Good kits, bad presentation? Why didn't you vote for it (even the smallest details)? I'd be interested in any Illustrator and/or Photoshop tips/tricks/processes that could help me improve, too.

chrisCLEMENT was kind enough to provide some feedback during the UK voting round: "HONORABLE MENTION: Sheffield - Great concept, a better look at the crest and a back view of the jerseys would have put you into the top 5 in my box, very nice effort on your part. Lots of potential there!" So, again, thank you for that.

But I always appreciate more C&C. Thanks in advance!

First entry: France - AS Bordelais

Bordeaux.png

Crest: Not only incorporates the tower from the Bordeaux coat of arms, but also the shield shape typical of French club crests. The city symbol, lion and fleur de lis are front and center. As unoriginal as it may be, the color scheme mimics wine, a la Bordeaux.
Home kit: I'm a huge fan of sublimation, or at least subtle color changes in kits, so I included them here. The hoops are mimicked in the socks, which are Adidas' version of the Team Speed socks (for reference).
Away kit: Keeping with the hoops theme, I decided to change it up a bit. This time, the hoops are thinner and represent the tower in the crest.