Milwaukee Brewers alternate throwback logo (Inkscape)

ForwardProgress

Hi, this is my first time posting one of my concepts in this forum.

The one I am posting today is meant to be an alternate logo for the Milwaukee Brewers of the late 70's and early 80's. It is pretty much a tweaked version of the classic ball-in-glove logo but instead of the "m" and "b" letterforms taking the shape of a ball and glove, they take the shape of a batting helmet from the same era.

Here is the logo that inspired me:

http://www.sportslogos.net/logos/view/m4r0bevve0valis6ggnyyytak/Milwaukee_Brewers/1978/Partial_Logo

And here is my concept logo:

777400d455b5c47e6947b97e3c3bab7f.jpg

I'd love to hear what you guys think!

Clever idea, my only issue is that is reads more as "bm" than "mb" The ball in glove gets away as an "mb" because the M is higher than the B. In this case, they are about on the same plane, making it read straight across. I'm sure Berwers fans wouldn't really care for referring to their team as BM (unless it's an unusually bad season).

TDZiMMB.png

Clever idea, my only issue is that is reads more as "bm" than "mb" The ball in glove gets away as an "mb" because the M is higher than the B. In this case, they are about on the same plane, making it read straight across. I'm sure Berwers fans wouldn't really care for referring to their team as BM (unless it's an unusually bad season).

Thank you for the constructive criticism, I appreciate it. I actually agree with you that my concept logo does read more as "bm" than "mb" and strangely I never noticed that until you pointed it out. Thanks for bringing it up. Now, do you have any ideas on how I could alter my concept logo to make it read more as "mb"? The only idea I have is putting a line at the top of the "b" to make it shorter, hoping people would read the "m" first since it would be higher like in the original ball-in-glove logo. I don't think that would look good though.