Mascot Competition at Small College

peutetrenon

Wanted to get some feedback on a concept. I’ll preface by saying I’m no professional designer, merely someone who enjoys design -- Illustrator has been a steep learning curve for me, even after a few years of comfort with Photoshop.

To the point: I’m finishing up a master’s degree (Communications) and apparently my school is having a design competition for their new mascot for athletics (which I also interpret as need for a logo). They already have a name decided upon -- the "Expat". Thing is, time is an issue – they want submissions by March 5th.

Let’s skip ahead and get to it (for background info, see after the images):

Wordmarks

Three Type Options for Shortname:

14ik7qr.jpg

Type Options for "Long" name:

2d1pt7t.jpg

Logo

rvejcx.jpg

A bit rushed, yes.

Logo and Wordmark Example

2i2ejn.jpg

If you’re wondering about why I did certain things in the design, here’s my thought process/motivation:

Direction

It’s left-facing. Why? Because higher education is liberal propaganda.

Actually: Yes, it is deliberate. It's a defensive stance, which reflects (from my perspective) the history and MENTALITY of the school as, among other things, out of place. One could make the argument that by facing the other way implies “forward-progress”, but…ehh.

“Expatriates” vs. “Ex-Patriots”

I can’t decide what works better. I kind of like the EX-PATRIOTS idea better (it’s, like, TOTALLY eXtreme!!!!11) as, in my mind, it leads to a darker, fiercer character – a “zombie patriot” if you will, a guy who won’t take any bull :censored:, and isn’t afraid to get in a bar fight and [try to] kick your ass.

That’s also an apt reflection of the vibe of the student body.

I also, I have a hunch there are many a folk who may not know how to properly spell "Expatriates". Let's just say it'll be like calling them the Starzz.

Whether I’ve accomplished this “fierceness” or not…well that’s up to others to decide.

Some questions I have...