My First Logo!

bspinney26

Hi guys, I was a curious onlooker over at Puckdrawn and when the site shut down, I decided it was time to start my own. I'm a full-time Technical Illustrator and this is my first complete logo. I used Fraser Davidson's great tutorial for the presentation. I welcome the C&C, just wanted to introduce myself. I don't know if it's out of school, but if you are interested in the project and would like to join in, you can check out the High School Hockey Project.

Let me know what you think!

holliscavalier5.jpg

Not bad. Not bad at all.

However, I can't help but feel that the face is a little too "bare". There's a lot of open white space in the musketeer's(?) face. Like leggman said, a shadow would improve this, but so would simply thickening up the facial features. The nose and mouth in particular. Also, his hat could stand to be about twice as tall as it is now. It looks like he has a flat head the way it is rendered now.

Other than those two minor nitpicks, this logo is looking pretty solid! Definitely one of the best first logos i've seen. Keep it up man, and keep practicing!

2043050vl19qK6.gif

Not too shabby? it's a definite improvement over the old. Couple things: File > Save For Web and Devices. That should help keep the image size down for online presentation. The other thing is that the colors are a little too intrusive? maybe look at some softer tones that play nicely. Great update, though.

Not too shabby? it's a definite improvement over the old. Couple things: File > Save For Web and Devices. That should help keep the image size down for online presentation. The other thing is that the colors are a little too intrusive? maybe look at some softer tones that play nicely. Great update, though.

I always save for web and devices, but in this case I uploaded the file from its location on my blog. Would the solution be: Upload a smaller (3.5 MB) jpeg to my blog, then point to that web address?

Worth a shot, anyway.