Field Stencils & Field Logo Art

Cola

I started painting my high school's logo in the center of the football field my freshman year and have been doing it for about 8 years now. Since then I have picked up another school.

Basically, I have been doing it totally by freehand. The first few years was strictly freehand until I got smart and started using small rope to "layout" each line, then I would paint over it lightly and then when done go over it with more layers of paint. This has worked well for me and I have got plenty of compliments, but I want to step up the game.

I would like to make my own stencil to use for these purposes and was wondering if anyone knew of an easy way or could offer ANY advice or help on accomplishing this task.

I finally learned how to use Illustrator and am able to vectorize lots of high school logos that are only in small or decent raster images. If I could make stencils I was thinking I could open up my business a little and do some more local schools around my area.

Here is the work I have done freehand. It's supposed to be 'W' & 'E' interlocking diagonally with Monotype Corsiva as the font:

field.jpg

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if anyone has done similar work, share your stories and how you do this. I wish there was more interest in this and an online community somewhere. All I can find are people wanting to sell stencils and they aren't giving me any good info.

Thanks a lot.

By the way, what I am looking to do is create the stencil with a sturdy material that would last over time and wouldn't move around a lot when placed on the ground- maybe it could be staked down?

Also, they would need to be anywhere from 40 to 50 feet wide and tall so I am sure I would need to do it in pieces unless someone knows better.

I have no clue on what type of material to use- Maybe a couple heavy duty tarps?