Re-Designing the EIHL

Hathaway Browne

Well I decided to do a partial "what if", partial re-design of the UK's Elite Ice Hockey League and came up with the logos below.

A couple of disclaimers first off...

I did not create the EIHL logo - that already exists (you can see it here), however I re-drew it in Inkscape, and as much as it is a necessary evil over here, I abhor the title sponsorship so I ditched the bmibaby logo.

As I started playing around with the logo, I decided that the league could easily have 2 divisions and I utilised the bmi surrounding to make the Conference shields. (Just for fun, like the NHL and its French logo I added two Welsh versions).

I then crated the All Star Game logo and took inspiration from the NHL's "London Premiere" logo to crate the EIHL Opening Day logo.

Well here goes...

3118217309_dbd6fc0948_o.jpg

I have also began vectorising some of the existing team logos (7 done so far and 5 from the lower Premier League) as well as bringing back two defunct team logos.

I also planned to try and re-imagine some of the weaker EIHL team logos, but I've hit a brick wall at the moment. And I don't think my jersey designing skills are up to scratch yet.

EDIT: Here's the team logo's I've done so far..

3118248103_c332f42c23_o.jpg

L-R: Top Row: Liverpool Riverkings*, Newcastle Vipers, Basingstoke Bison, Slough Jets, Nottingham Panthers

Middle Row: Hull Stingrays, Edinburgh Capitals, Guildford Flames, Bracknell Bees, Solihull/Birmingham Barons

Bottom Row: Dundee Stars (my own logo), Sheffield Steelers, London Knights*, Cardiff Devils.

*The London Knights are defunct and the Riverkings originally played in Newcastle before folding and being ultimately replaced by the Vipers.

6893352392_587cf4e9eb_n.jpg