Pittsburgh Penguins: Old & New

rbripley

Longtime lurker, occasional commenter, and always an admirer of so many designers on here.

This is my first approach at starting to develop a concept (though it's not that far along yet, just some ideas). I freely admit I am not a designer (and am painfully aware of my limitations), only a beginner logo hobbyist trying who's trying figure out:

1. What the elements of a successful concept are and how they work together; and

2. How to get ideas from my brain onto the page with a limited skill set that's limited even more by the software I have!

I was inspired by someone else's proposal to create a third jersey for the Pittsburgh Penguins that mixed elements and colors of previous identities. Over the years, I've liked nearly all of the Pens' uniforms, but didn't want to necessarily just recolor old elements, rather try to incorporate just a few select historical ideas into a slightly different look, but one that still reads as Penguins.

The first link is a version with a slightly more traditional approach, with links 2 & 3 trying to think about things a little differently. All three try to use black, blue, and gold.

Any helpful thoughts are welcomed.

"Conduct may be founded on the hard rock or the wet marshes."

Those colors remind me of the Washington Capitals of the 90's. I would say lighten the blue a bit for starters.

Thanks, Bmac. I went back and forth with a lighter blue option and a bit more vibrant gold as well. Seems that both of those colors tend to incite lots of opinions (no matter the sport!). But I'll take another pass later this week and see how it works.

My #1 piece of advice to give is to use the templates located in the template threads that are pinned at the top of this forum. The one you are using is somewhat off-sized, and I think it distorts what you're trying to show us.